Good songs from bands people hate

The other day my iPod was being played on shuffle, which can always prove to be hilarious. With 1241 of my “preferred” songs, it ranges from AC/DC, Britney Spears, Beethoven or Arcade Fire. Sure enough, Maroon 5 came on and I was ready to have at least someone speak up about my musical choice. Not many people are fans of Maroon 5. But to my surprise, those with me all agreed it was a perfectly good song and Adam Levine and Co. get a bad rep. I’m not saying I like every Maroon 5 song (fucking This Love can burn in a fire), but they got some goodies. Of course my mind started thinking about other bands with bad reps and people willing to chase them out of the music industry with pitchforks. But honestly, some of them have legit good songs. Lets take a trip, and see where it takes us. TOGETHER.

This actually just might be a list of shitty bands with songs that JULIA likes. IDOWHATIWANT.

Hanson – This Time Around

Oh Hanson, no one takes you seriously. For obvious historical reasons. But the boys are still going strong and releasing albums. They are actually super talented, always writing and producing their own albums. They are great musicians and painfully underrated. And they are great live. I’ve always loved this song. It’s just so upbeat and hopeful.

Nickelback – Worthy to Say

Yeah I went there. Come at me. I love this song. I mean that. Not ashamed at all. Actually, I like the whole “The State” album. Breathe, Old Enough, Leader of Men – these are all great rock songs. Would I buy a new Nickelback album? No. They got way too overproduced and ridiculous for me. But this early stuff still gets me signing along in the car.

Matchbox Twenty – Hang

I bought this album for my dad as a birthday gift when it first came out, and he played it a lot. I grew to like and appreciate it. I always had a soft spot for this last track.

Third Eye Blind – Jumper

I LOVE THIS SONG. The middle part with the drums and the echo-ey vocals still give me goosebumps. Third Eye Blind go through roller coasters. At first, everyone hated them, then they got some credit, then they were hated on again, and now people in their mid-twenties love them for nostalgic reasons. Some critics have come out of their pretentious caves and admitted that actually, they’re not that bad.

Everclear – Fire Maple Song

A lot of people don’t like Everclear, and I can understand why. They started off as a Nirvana grunge copy (even though they came before Nirvana but I won’t get into that), then got fame in the late 90’s with sugar rock pop that got even sweeter into the early 2000’s, where eventually people stopped caring. The thing that makes people LIKE Everclear (and yes, we exist), is frontman and lyricist extraordinaire Art Alexakis’s ability to write a story. Every song is a small snippet of his life that makes you instantly connect with him and understand how he chooses to portray his emotions. Since the music part of Everclear is mediocre, this is why most people dismiss them before giving it a real try. This track is off their first album way back in 1993, and although it’s rough, it’s a gem for me just because of the lyrics and the imagery I can create in my head from it.

Linkin Park – Faint

This was a stable in my car somewhere in 2003-2004. I never really got into LP, but I enjoy this urgent rock anthem. I’m amazed I never got a speeding ticket due to this song always making my blood race.

Korn – Got the Life

Ahhhhh the nu-metal wave. The other night I was watching a doc on metal and they of course addressed this crazy phase. I suddenly remembered just how huge it was. Limp Bizkit headlined Woodstock. LIMPBIZKIT.HEADLINED.WOODSTOCK. Whoa. Back when it came out, I hated this song, but somehow over the years I gained an appreciation. I still think Jonathan Davis is an idiot though.

David Guetta – Sexy Chick

As the number one DJ in the world right now, his beat is basically on any pop/dance song currently charting. I don’t care. I’m not tired of it. I dig it. This was one of the first singles to make it big, and although at first I thought it was annoying as fuck, I then started hearing it every morning at 4:30 am on my drive to VANOC in 2009, and by the 5th listen I was hooked. To this day when it comes on, I need to dance.

Maroon 5 – Sunday Morning

The band that inspired this entry, and the song that is a perfect balance of dreamy, relaxed and bluesy. It encompasses everything you’d wanna feel on a lazy Sunday morning.

LMFAO – Party Rock Anthem

How am I not tired of this song? How is this song still on the charts? How are these 2 dudes nephew and uncle? I have no idea. What I do know though, is that everyday I’m shuffling. Like Sexy Chick, I can’t get tired of this beat. Also I enjoy these two dudes. They are having fun and just want people to have fun. They never come off as pretentious, and despite their massive fame, they still come off as dorks who know they are lucky as fuck. Shuffle on boys, I’ll come to this party every time.

Avril Lavigne – Losing Grip

Oh man, I hate Avril Lavigne. I don’t say that about a lot of artists, but I really don’t like Avril. I think she needs to grow up and drop the hair colour extensions and 10th grade punk look if she ever wants people to seriously think she’s maturing on her albums (mentally and musically). But this one off her debut when she was an ACTUAL angsty teenager gets me angsty as well. Suddenly I’m back to 16 year old Julia singing loudly in my seafoam Honda Civic. YOU GET THIS ONE AVRIL. JUST ONE.

Selena Gomez – Love You Like a Love Song

A newbie to the music scene, but not to the acting world, this current Disney Princess is fucking Justin Bieber. Her foray into the music scene is what you expect from these teen queens, innocent and harmless, but it can be reeeaaallll catchy. And this one sure is. No regrets, I’m turning this bitch up and dancing in my bathroom while I do my hair. AND I KEEP HITTING REPEAT-PEAT-PEAT-PEAT-PEAT-PEAT.

Gavin DeGraw – Belief

He’s talented, but most are over him after his massive success with “I Don’t Want To Be”. I never really made an effort to see what he was about until I did choreography to this song in dance class one night, and it stuck. Pretty powerful song actually.

One Republic – Good Life

Ryan Tedder knows what the fuck he’s doing. He’s written some of the most successful pop songs over the last 5 years. His band is mediocre at best, but I enjoy a lot of their songs. This one in particular makes me always think my life is way more exciting and fabulous then it actually is. It makes me think of traveling every month and being carefree. I can actually feel weights being lifted off my shoulders any time it comes on. Addictive and breezy.

Goo Goo Dolls – Name

This holds up. Enough said.

Live – Dolphin’s Cry

You know what, I think a lot of people actually like Live so this might be a void choice. I just suddenly thought of them and how awesome this song is. Consider it a gift.

NOW LETS END THIS POST RIGHT, WITH EVERYONE’S MOST GUILTY PLEASURE.

Leave a comment