Annnnnnnnnd we’re back!

First post of 2012, here we go! Whoop! Now that I’ve wished 2011 good riddance in the form of the waves on Chesterman Beach, I can safely and comfortably say I am ready for this year. There will definitely be more smiling.

As we do at the beginning of the year, we make resolutions. Here are some of mine.

– Start taking piano lessons.

– Finally get my dual citizenship approved. If the Germans would just stop trolling me.

– Get my ass back to Greece somehow.

– Visit my new nephew in the Spring and hold him awkwardly (BABIES, HOW DO THEY WORK?)

– Start a novel.

– Finish that 4th feature script.

– Attempt to drink less during the week (HAHAHAHA)

Anyway, those are kind of lofty but who cares, what do I got to lose? I think that’s my new motto this year.

In typical fashion, I started my New Years on the right foot. By having a dog puke on me.

The rascal in question

Johnny and I usually get along, and I feel like we’ve built a connection over the years. So I let him sit on my lap in the backseat of Alexis’s car on our ride back from Tofino. For those who have trekked there, we all know the loopy, twisty, turvy mountain path you end up on for an hour. Franz was already distant towards our furry friend since the night before he humped his leg (“IS HE HUMPING ME, OR SHITTING?!?!?!!”). J-dawg was restless, changing his spot every few minutes. I felt his stomach lurch a few times but thought nothing of it, he was usually solid in a car. That all changed when he quickly got up, stood still, and then began heaving brown, murky, hot vomit on my lap. Everyone started yelling/laughing, with Alexis unable to pull over due to us being on a snowy small highway. Just when I thought it couldn’t get worse, J started to lap up his own vomit as if to say “sorry about that, I’ll take care of it”.

I kept waiting for him to puke THAT up as well. But Johnny being a dog, he ate it up like a champ. By now I was laughing so hard I thought I would piss my pants just to add some extra spice into my crotch area. Alexis finally found a spot to pull over so I could leap out and have the other car of our friends join in on the laughter. I changed into some tights on the side of the road, much to the delight of passing cars, and committed a cardinal sin at the ferry bay while I trotted around. TIGHTS ARE NOT PANTS.

In other news before I leave you with some tunes, Franz and I have decided that our loyal followers have suffered enough, we’re bringing back THE FRANZ AND JULIA SHOW. For those not acquainted, get acquainted.

TUNES OF DA WEEK

Old Apartment by Barenaked Ladies

Oh, what’s this, you don’t like Barenaked Ladies? Listen Jeff Winger, sit down and appreciate the fuck out of this song cause it represents nostalgia when it makes you the most angry. Turn this shit up and open that box you keep in the back of your closet with ALL YOUR MEMORIES. Just me? All right.

P.S I linked you to the music video which sucks balls and is also the radio edit which isn’t as crunchy as the original that is on my ipod which I burned from a mix CD from like 2001. Who knows where I got my version but its way better than this slicker version. Shame.

Dandelion by Stay

Why do I like this? I don’t know. Repeat. It’s growing on me. LIKE A DANDELION. See what I did there?

Colours by Grouplove

Whoops, missed out on these guys back in 2010. This is like a harder Edward Sharpe. I dig.

Don’t Wait by The Duke Spirit

My new go to song to get up in the morning. So dreamy but summer rock. That chorus is just so fucking catchy and makes you want to fall in love.

Serpents by Sharon Van Etten

This will annoy me after it exhausts my iPod, but for now it can stay. It also has a bunch of indie kings on it, all which are listed when clicking on the link.

 

THAT’S IT FOR NOW. THIS POST WAS KIND OF A.D.D. OH WELL.

Leave a comment